Employer FAQsAffordable Care Act FAQs for Employers
When can I expect the renewal rates for my client?
Small Group rates are typically released 60 days prior to the client's effective date. Large Group rates are typically released 90 days prior to the client's effective date.
Do you have a PPO/HSA-compatible plan?
At this time, NHP does not offer a PPO or an HSA-compatible plan.
What size group can I quote directly with NHP?
A prospect must have a minimum of six eligible employees to receive a quote directly from NHP. A minimum of five subscribers must join at the point of sale. Accounts with five or fewer employees should contact one of
Can I get my premium activity statement/invoice online or emailed to me?
At this time, Premium activity statements are mailed to employers monthly and are not available online.
How do I sign up for Online Enrollment?
To sign up for NHP’s online enrollment tool, please contact your broker and/or NHP Account Manager. This is your first step to get started.
On 10/22/11, I submitted a member termination request to be effective 11/1/11. Why am I still being charged for the member's policy on my November premium activity statement?
Premium Activity Statements are mailed out around the 20th of every month and are based on enrollments processed on or around the 18th of the month. If this member is on your November statement, then the transaction was not processed in time to be reflected. NHP recommends that you pay the invoice in full and we will make the appropriate adjustments in the following month's statement.
Is it necessary for me to work with (or have) a broker to get NHP health Insurance for my company?
No. it is not necessary that you work with a broker to obtain a quote.
Click on this link to learn more about how cost sharing works.
This important plan information explains how you and NHP share the cost of your health care. Included is a glossary of common health care cost-sharing terms, such as “copays” and “deductible” and an example of how these cost-sharing components work together.
You can call us any time with questions at 1-800-462-5449 Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m., and Thursdays 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.
Affordable Care Act FAQs for Employers
What does national health reform mean for employers?
National health reform includes new responsibilities and opportunities for employers. Importantly, the law provides incentives to help make offering health insurance coverage to workers easier and, in some cases, more affordable.
The law also creates financial consequences for some large businesses that don’t offer affordable coverage to full-time workers.
How does national health reform impact small business owners in Massachusetts?
Employers can get up to a 50% federal tax credit when they buy health insurance through the Health Connector, if they:
- Have 25 or fewer full-time employees, and
- Pay average annual wages below $50,000, and
- Pay at least half of the premiums for employee health insurance.
In Massachusetts, small businesses that promote wellness in the workplace can also get up to a 15% discount when they buy insurance through the Health Connector.
Will there be new penalties for employers and how do they apply?
The federal law creates new employer penalties. They will start in 2015 and apply to employers with more than 50 workers only.
There may be a penalty for some employers that do not offer affordable health insurance coverage to full-time employees. It can be up to be $2,000 per each full-time worker. The penalty will be triggered should any full-time employee gets subsidized insurance from a health insurance marketplace, like the Health Connector. This happens when a full-time worker, whose household income is under 400% the federal poverty level, is either:
- Not offered health insurance, or
- Is offered health insurance that is unaffordable and/or does not meet a minimum value standard.
Potential penalties are calculated differently depending on whether the employer offers their full-time workers no coverage, or unaffordable or substandard coverage. Employers that do not offer any coverage can be subject to $2,000 per full-time worker.
Employers that offer substandard coverage may be subject to a penalty that will be the lower of the following two options:
- $3,000 for any employee who receives a subsidy through an insurance exchange, OR
- $2,000 multiplied by all of the employer’s full-time employees.
The first 30 workers can be excluded towards the calculation of this penalty.